South Dakota

Admitted to the Union on May 23, 1788 as the 8th state.

  • 1790 federal census extant for all districts.
  • 1800 federal census extant for al districts except Richland.
  • 1810 – 1860 federal census extant for all districts.
  • 1870 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except for 1890.
Abbeville Aiken Allendale Anderson
Bamberg Barnwell Beaufort Berkeley
Calhoun Charleston Cherokee Chester
Chesterfield Clarendon Colleton Darlington
Dillon Dorchester Edgefield Fairfield
Florence Georgetown Greenville Greenwood
Hampton Horry Jasper Kershaw
Lancaster Laurens Lee Lexington
McCormick Marion Marlboro Newberry
Oconee Orangeburg Pickens Richland
Saluda Spartanburg Sumter Union
Williamsburg York