Admitted to the Union on December 14, 1819 as the 22nd state.

  • 1800 federal census lost for all counties.
  • 1810 federal census lost for all counties. 1810 territorial census extant for Washington.
  • 1820 federal census lost for all counties. 1820 state census extant for Baldwin, Conecuh, Dallas, Franklin, Limestone, St. Clair, and Wilcox.
  • 1830 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except for 1890 (see below).
  • 1890 census lost for all counties except part of Perry County (Perryville Beat 11 and Severe Beat 8).
Autauga Baldwin Barbour Bibb
Blount Bullock Butler Calhoun
Chambers Cherokee Chilton Choctaw
Clarke Clay Cleburne Coffee
Colbert Conecuh Coosa Covington
Crenshaw Cullman Dale Dallas
DeKalb Elmore Escambia Etowah
Fayette Franklin Geneva Greene
Hale Henry Houston Jackson
Jefferson Lamar Lauderdale Lawrence
Lee Limestone Lowndes Macon
Madison Marengo Marion Marshall
Mobile Monroe Montgomery Morgan
Perry Pickens Pike Randolph
Russell St. Clair Shelby Sumter
Talladega Tallapoosa Tuscaloosa Walker
Washington Wilcox Winston