Admitted to the Union on February 14, 1912 as the 48th state. Arizona became a territory in 1863.

  • 1860 federal census is extant, covering only Arizona County, which includes only the southern portion of the present-day state.
  • 1870 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except for 1890.
Apache Cochise Coconino Gila
Graham Greenlee La Paz Maricopa
Mohave Navajo Pima Pinal
Santa Cruz Yavapai Yuma