Admitted to the Union on March 3, 1845 as the 27th state. Spain sold Florida to the United States in 1819, and treaty ratification and formal U.S. possession did not occur until 1821, so no 1820 census was taken. Florida became a territory in 1822.

  • 1830—1850 federal censuses extant for all counties.
  • 1860 federal census extant for all counties except Hernando.
  • 1870—1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except for 1890.
  • 1885 state census available for all counties except Alachua, Clay, Columbia and Nassau.
Alachua Baker Bay Bradford
Brevard Broward Calhoun Charlotte
Citrus Clay Collier Columbia
DeSoto Dixie Duval Escambia
Flagler Franklin Gadsden Gilchrist
Glades Gulf Hamilton Hardee
Hendry Hernando Highlands Hillsborough
Holmes Indian River Jackson Jefferson
Lafayette Lake Lee Leon
Levy Liberty Madison Manatee
Marion Martin Miami-Dade Monroe
Nassau Okaloosa Okeechobee Orange
Osceola Palm Beach Pasco Pinellas
Polk Putnam St. Johns St. Lucie
Santa Rosa Sarasota Seminole Sumter
Suwannee Taylor Union Volusia
Wakulla Walton Washington