Admitted to the Union on April 30, 1812 as the 18th state. As part of the Louisiana Purchase, Orleans Territory was created in 1804 and was distinct from the Louisiana Territory of 1805—1812 in present-day Missouri and Arkansas. Due to its French origins, Louisiana has parishes rather than counties.

  • 1810 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all parishes with the exception of those noted below:
  • All parishes extant in 1860 census except for Bienville.
  • All parishes lost for 1890 census.
Acadia Allen Ascension Assumption
Avoyelles Beauregard Bienville Bossier
Caddo Calcasieu Caldwell Cameron
Catahoula Claiborne Concordia De Soto
East Baton Rouge East Carroll East Feliciana Evangeline
Franklin Grant Iberia Iberville
Jackson Jefferson Jefferson Davis La Salle
Lafayette Lafourche Lincoln Livingston
Madison Morehouse Natchitoches Orleans
Ouachita Plaquemines Pointe Coupee Rapides
Red River Richland Sabine St. Bernard
St. Charles St. Helena St. James St. John The Baptist
St. Landry St. Martin St. Mary St. Tammany
Tangipahoa Tensas Terrebonne Union
Vermilion Vernon Washington Webster
West Baton Rouge West Carroll West Feliciana Winn