Admitted to the Union on February 6, 1788 as the 6th state.

  • 1790 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties with the exceptions below:
  • 1800 most of Suffolk County is lost.
  • 1890 federal census is lost.
Barnstable Berkshire Bristol Dukes
Essex Franklin Hampden Hampshire
Middlesex Nantucket Norfolk Plymouth
Suffolk Worcester