New York

Admitted to the Union on July 26, 1788 as the 11th state.

  • 1790 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except:
  • 1810 federal census extant for all counties except Cortland and part of Broome.
  • 1890 federal census lost for all counties except part of Suffolk (Brookhaven Township) and Westchester (Eastchester).
Albany Allegany Bronx Broome
Cattaraugus Cayuga Chautauqua Chemung
Chenango Clinton Columbia Cortland
Delaware Dutchess Erie Essex
Franklin Fulton Genesee Greene
Hamilton Herkimer Jefferson Kings
Lewis Livingston Madison Monroe
Montgomery Nassau New York City Niagara
Oneida Onondaga Ontario Orange
Orleans Oswego Otsego Putnam
Queens Rensselaer Richmond Rockland
St. Lawrence Saratoga Schenectady Schoharie
Schuyler Seneca Steuben Suffolk
Sullivan Tioga Tompkins Ulster
Warren Washington Wayne Westchester
Wyoming Yates