North Carolina

Admitted to the Union on November 21, 1789 as the 12th state.

  • 1790 federal census extant for all counties except Caswell, Granville, and Orange.
  • 1800 federal census extant for all counties.
  • 1810 federal census extant for all counties except Craven, Greene, New Hanover, and Wake.
  • 1820 federal census extant for all counties except Currituck, Franklin, Martin, Montgomery, Randolph, and Wake.
  • 1830 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except for 1890 (see below).
  • 1890 federal census lost for all counties except parts of Gaston County (South Point and River Bend Townships) and Cleveland County (Township No. 2).
Alamance Alexander Alleghany Anson
Ashe Avery Beaufort Bertie
Bladen Brunswick Buncombe Burke
Cabarrus Caldwell Camden Carteret
Caswell Catawba Chatham Cherokee
Chowan Clay Cleveland Columbus
Craven Cumberland Currituck Dare
Davidson Davie Duplin Durham
Edgecombe Forsyth Franklin Gaston
Gates Graham Granville Greene
Guilford Halifax Harnett Haywood
Henderson Hertford Hoke Hyde
Iredell Jackson Johnston Jones
Lee Lenoir Lincoln McDowell
Macon Madison Martin Mecklenburg
Mitchell Montgomery Moore Nash
New Hanover Northampton Onslow Orange
Pamlico Pasquotank Pender Perquimans
Person Pitt Polk Randolph
Richmond Robeson Rockingham Rowan
Rutherford Sampson Scotland Stanly
Stokes Surry Swain Transylvania
Tyrrell Union Vance Wake
Warren Washington Watauga Wayne
Wilkes Wilson Yadkin Yancey