Admitted to the Union on March 4, 1791 as the 14th state. Its first federal census officially began April 4, 1791 to run for five months.

  • 1790 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except for 1890.
Addison Bennington Caledonia Chittenden
Essex Franklin Grand Isle Lamoille
Orange Orleans Rutland Washington
Windham Windsor