Admitted to the Union on June 25, 1788 as the 10th state.

  • 1790 federal census lost for all counties.
  • 1800 federal census lost for all counties except Accomack and Louisa. The District of Columbia west of the Potomac River is also lost.
  • 1810 federal census extant for all counties except Alexandria (in DC), Grayson, Greenbrier, Halifax, Hardy, Henry, James City, King William, Lee, Louisa, Mecklenburg, Nansemond, Northampton, Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Russell, and Tazewell.
  • 1820 – 1940 federal censuses extant for all counties except for 1890.
Accomack Albemarle Alleghany Amelia
Amherst Appomattox Arlington Augusta
Bath Bedford Bland Botetourt
Brunswick Buchanan Buckingham Campbell
Caroline Carroll Charles City Charlotte
Chesterfield Clarke Craig Culpeper
Cumberland Dickenson Dinwiddie Essex
Fairfax Fauquier Floyd Fluvanna
Franklin Frederick Giles Gloucester
Goochland Grayson Greene Greensville
Halifax Hanover Henrico Henry
Highland Isle Of Wight James City King And Queen
King George King William Lancaster Lee
Loudoun Louisa Lunenburg Madison
Mathews Mecklenburg Middlesex Montgomery
Nelson New Kent Northampton Northumberland
Nottoway Orange Page Patrick
Pittsylvania Powhatan Prince Edward Prince George
Prince William Pulaski Rappahannock Richmond
Roanoke Rockbridge Rockingham Russell
Scott Shenandoah Smyth Southampton
Spotsylvania Stafford Surry Sussex
Tazewell Warren Washington Westmoreland
Wise Wythe York